Southwest Local Algebra Meeting

Tulane University, 7–8 March 2020


Saturday 7 March

12.30–1.00 pm  Check-in and coffee/snacks
1.00–1.50 pm  Poster session
2.00–2.50 pm  Claudia Polini
3.00–3.50 pm  Mahir Can
4.00–4.50 pm  Poster session
5.00–5.50 pm  Mohsen Gheibi
6.30 pm  Social gathering

Sunday 8 March

8.30–9.00 am  Continental breakfast
9.00–9.50 am  Sandy Spiroff
10.00–10.50 am  Poster session
11.00–11.50 am  Luis Garcia Puente
12.00–12.50 pm  Srikanth Iyengar

Download the conference poster


To ease planning and reporting we request that all participants fill out the registration form before 31 January 2020. Early registrants have priority for support , and you must register by 24 January 2020 to be considered for support.

Travel and Accommodation

The supported participants will be staying at the Hotel Indigo, 2203 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans and the Hampton Inn New Orleans, 3626 St. Charles Ave, New Orleans. Please register by 24 January 2020, so that we can book your room at the conference rate. If you are not being supported, please make your own hotel reservation.

The talks will take place in room 305 in the Tilton Memorial Building. It is next door from Gibson Hall which houses the Mathematics Department; poster sessions, coffee breaks, and registration take place in room 426 Gibson Hall. Both buildings are shown on the interactive campus map .

The social gathering on Saturday takes place at Superior Seafood and Oyster Bar, 4338 St. Charles Avenue (corner of Napoleon) starting at 7pm.

Sponsors and Support

The meeting is supported by the National Science Foundation and the Department of Mathematics at Tulane University.

Registered Participants


Lars Winther Christensen  (Texas Tech University)

Louiza Fouli  (New Mexico State University)

Tài Huy Hà  (Tulane University)

David Jorgensen  (University of Texas at Arlington)


Mahir Can  (Tulane University)
  A panorama of multiplicity free actions in algebra and geometry

Luis Garcia Puente  (Sam Houston State University)
  Counting arithmetical structures

Mohsen Gheibi  (University of Texas at Arlington)
  Quasi-projective dimension

Srikanth Iyengar  (University of Utah)   The complete intersection
  property through the lens of derived categories

Claudia Polini  (University of Notre Dame)
  Defining ideals of Rees rings of maximal minors of sparse matrices

Sandy Spiroff  (University of Mississippi)
  On ladder determinantal rings

Poster Presenters

Rebekah Aduddell  (University of Texas at Arlington)  
Tracking the critical degree of a totally acyclic complex over a complete resolution

Tyler Anway  (University of Texas at Arlington)  
Approximations of totally acyclic complexes

Sankhaneel Bisui  (Tulane University)  
Points and containments

Pinches Dirnfeld  (University of Utah)  
Base change along the Frobenius endomorphism and the Gorenstein property

Zachary Flores  (Colorado State University)  
The Weak Lefschetz Property for Vector Bundles on \(\mathbb{P}^2\)

Tekin Karadag  (Texas A&M University)  
Gerstenhaber bracket on Hopf algebra cohomology of 9 dimensional Taft algebra

Jesse Keyton  (University of Arkansas)  
Unimodality of licci level monomial algebras in codimension three

Tein Le  (Tulane University)  
Diagonal Orbits in Double Flag Varieties

Tolulope Oke  (Texas A&M University)  
Gerstenhaber bracket on Hochschild cohomology of general twisted tensor products

Pablo Sanchez Ocal  (Texas A&M University)  
The Gerstenhaber bracket on relative Hochschild cohomology

Alexandra Sobieska  (Texas A&M University)  
Toward free resolutions over scrolls

Abu Thomas  (Tulane University)   Estimation of resurgence of various classes of homogeneous ideals

Hung Tran  (University of Texas at Arlington)  
Some aspects of noncommutative algebraic geometry

SLAM in the past

2019 at University of Texas at El Paso   2018 at University of Arkansas   2017 at University of New Mexico   2016 at Texas State University  

2015 at Oklahoma State University   2014 at Texas A&M University   2013 at University of Arizona  

2012 at Texas Tech University   2011 at New Mexico State University   2010 at University of Texas at Arlington