Southwest Local Algebra Meeting

Oklahoma State University, 28 February – 1 March 2015


Saturday 28 February

12.30–1.00 pm  Check-in and coffee/snacks
1.00–2.00 pm  Poster session
2.00–2.50 pm  Giulio Caviglia
3.00–3.50 pm  Kristen Stagg
4.00–4.50 pm  Poster session
5.00–5.50 pm  Chris Peterson
6.30 pm  Social gathering

Sunday 1 March

8.30–9.00 am  Continental breakfast
9.00–9.50 am  Laura Matusevich
10.00–10.50 am  Poster session
11.00–11.50 am  Edward Richmond
12.00–12.50 pm  Lance Miller

Download the conference poster


To ease planning and reporting we request that all participants fill out the registration form before 6 February 2015. Early registrants have priority for support.

Travel and Accommodation

The conference will take place in the Mathematical Sciences Building on Monroe, just north of University Avenue. On the weekends, parking at non-metered spots is free except where noted. Convenient places to park are in lots 35 and 36; see the campus parking map .

The conference hotel is the Residence Inn Stillwater, located at 800 S. Murphy St., on the west side of Stillwater just south of Highway 51 (6th Ave.). It is an all-suite hotel with free hot breakfast, fitness room, and indoor pool. Please register to book a room at the conference rate. The hotel is around three miles from campus. To get to OSU, travel east on Highway 51 (6th Ave.) until you reach Monroe; then proceed north to campus.

The social gathering on Saturday takes place at Hideaway Pizza . Directions will be provided in your participant's package.

Stillwater is roughly equidistant from the airports in Oklahoma City (OKC) and Tulsa (TUL); the conference hotel is on the southwest side of Stillwater and thus is a bit closer to OKC.
Please note: There is no public transportation to Stillwater from either airport. If you fly, you will likely need to rent a car.

Sponsors and Support

The meeting is supported by the National Science Foundation
and the Department of Mathematics at Oklahoma State University.


Giulio Caviglia  (Purdue University)
Quotients of Clements-Lindstrom rings of given length

Laura Matusevich  (Texas A&M University)
Primary Decomposition of Binomial Ideals

Lance Miller  (University of Arkansas)
Test ideals in rings with finitely generated anti-canonical algebras

Chris Peterson  (Colorado State University)
In the unlikely event ... numerics and probability in commutative algebra and geometry

Edward Richmond  (Oklahoma State University)
Eigenvalues of sums of hermitian matrices and the cohomology
of Grassmannians

Kristen Stagg  (University of Texas-Tyler)
Solvable Leibniz Algebras with Restricted Nilradicals

Poster Presenters

Guillermo Alesandroni  (Oklahoma State University)  
The Taylor resolution and some open problems of Peeva–Stillman

Malik Barrett  (University of New Mexico)  
Curvature on the integers

Richard Chandler  (University of Texas Arlington)  
Line Scheme of a Certain Family of Quantum \(\mathbb{P}^3\)s

Lauren Grimley  (Texas A&M University)  
An Isomorphism of Gerstenhaber Algebras

Youngsu Kim  (University of California, Riverside)
Blowing up finitely supported complete ideals in a regular local ring

Greg Morre  (University of New Mexico)
Counting Standard Closures on a Power Series Ring Modulo the Edge Ideal of a Complete Graph

Lokendra Paudel  (New Mexico State University)
The group of divisibility of a finite character intersection of valuation rings

Alessio Sammartano  (Purdue University)
Deviations of graded algebras

Gabriel Sosa  (Purdue University)
On the Koszulness of multi-Rees algebras of principal Borel ideals

Nathan Steele  (University of Texas-Arlington)
Support varieties of totally acyclic complexes

Jonathan Toledo  (CINESTAV-IPN)
Algebraic independence and asymptotic properties of ideals

Registered Participants


Lars Winther Christensen  (Texas Tech University)

Louiza Fouli  (New Mexico State University)

Chris Francisco  (Oklahoma State University)

David Jorgensen  (University of Texas-Arlington)

Jeff Mermin  (Oklahoma State University)

Jay Schweig  (Oklahoma State University)

Previous SLAMs

2014 at Texas A&M University   2013 at University of Arizona  

2012 at Texas Tech University   2011 at New Mexico State University   2010 at University of Texas-Arlington