Texas Tech University

West Texas Applied Math Graduate Minisymposium
Friday, 28 April, 2017


Dr. Ra Inta has made his presentation available at this link.


The minisymposium is addressed to all graduate students and post-docs in the area of applied mathematics.
It will be a one day event with contributed talks of 25 minutes each plus 5 minutes for questions. A poster presentation will take place during the lunch break.

The location of the event is the Student Union Building (SUB) of Texas Tech University.
All talks will take place in the Senate room.
Registration, poster presentation, coffee breaks and lunch will be in the Matador room.
The day after the event there will be a barbecue open to all participants. It will be from 12:00pm to 3:00pm at Mae Simmons Park. Please look at this map for driving directions.

It is a great opportunity for graduate students and post-docs to talk about their research and expand their network.



Robert O. Lawton Distinguished Professor,
Frances Eppes Eminent Professor.

Department of Scientific Computing,
Florida State University.



The minisymposium poster can be downloaded from this link .


There is no registration fee for this event.

Anyone planning to attend is required to register in advance. Registration is open until April 21 .


8:20 - 8:50 Registration and Breakfast (provided by the SIAM Chapter of TTU)
8:50 - 9:00 Opening Remarks

9:00 - 9:25 Aadrita Nandi (Texas Tech University)
9:30 - 9:55 Krystin Steelman (Texas Tech University)

10:00 - 10:15 Coffee Break

10:15 - 10:40 Adeline Kornelus (University of New Mexico)
10:45 - 11:10 Guoyi Ke (Texas Tech University)
11:15 - 11:40 Sourav Dutta (Texas A & M University)

11:45 - 13:30 Poster Presentation and Lunch Break (provided by the SIAM Chapter of TTU)

13:30 - 14:20 Keynote Lecture by Professor Max Gunzburger (Florida State University)

14:30 - 14:45 Coffe Break

14:45 - 15:10 Simon Rush (Texas Tech University)
15:15 - 15:40 Juan P. Madrigal Cianci (University of New Mexico)
15:45 - 16:10 Oleksii Beznosov (University of New Mexico)

16:15 - 16:30 Coffee Break

16:30 - 16:55 Geoffrey Schuette (University of Texas at Arlington)
17:00 - 17:25 Rangana Jayawardhana (Texas Tech University)
17:30 - 17:55 Ra Inta (Texas Tech University)

18:00 - 18:15 Closing Remarks


AAdrita Nandi
"Stochastic Models of Superspreading in Epidemics"

Krystin Steelman
"Modeling the Early Stages of a Within-Host Viral Infection"

Adeline Kornelus
"Analysis of Sobolev discontinuous Galerkin"

Guoyi Ke
"New preconditioner techniques for the steady and unsteady buoyancy driven flow problems"

Sourav Dutta
"Theory and computation of multiphase, multicomponent flows in porous media"

Simon Rush
"Constructing a Reduced Order Model for Wind Turbine Wake Development from Lidar Measurements"

Juan P. Madrigal Cianci
"Deterministic and Probabilistic Methods for Seismic Source Inversion"

Oleksii Beznosov
"Hermite methods for the scalar wave equation on overset grids"

Geoffrey Schuette
"Nonparametric Estimation of Prior Distribution for a Linear Degradation Signal Model"

Rangana Jayawardhana
"LC Design for MIMO Systems"

Ra Inta
"How do we really look for gravitational waves? A tour of some applied mathematical tools used within the LIGO and Virgo collaborations"


Mihiri De-Silva (Texas Tech University)
"Stochastic modelling of plankton interactions with random birth and death"

Shih-Yu Lee (Texas Tech University)
"An adaptive mesh refinement strategy for finite element solutions of elliptic problems"

Sara Calandrini (Texas Tech University)
"Numerical simulations for fluid-structure interaction modeling of artery aneurysms"

Giacomo Capodaglio (Texas Tech University)
"A parallel particle tracking algorithm for finite element applications"

Pushpi Paranamana (Texas Tech University)
"Fracture model reduction and optimization for nonlinear flows in porous media"

Hongwei Wang (Texas Tech University)
"Find the action of Kauffman bracket skein algebra of the torus on the skein module of the 3-twist knot complement"

Gunter Leguy (University of New Mexico)
"An anisotropic, elastic-decohesive constitutive relation for modeling Arctic sea ice"

Osei Tweneboah (University of Texas at El Paso)
"Analysis of high frequency financial time series by using Ornstein-Uhlenbeck type models "

Adam Frederickson (University of New Mexico)
"Approximation of Schrodinger Kernels by Rational Functions"

Hum Bhandari (Texas Tech University)
"Fitting an Analytic Potential Energy Function using PSO Algorithm"


Participants of the minisymposium will have to provide for their lodging and travel expenses.

Click on this link for hotels near the Texas Tech Campus and directions to reach Lubbock, TX.


For any information regarding the minisymposium, please email Giacomo Capodaglio or Sara Calandrini .


The event is sponsored by the SIAM Chapter of Texas Tech University and by the Mathematics and Statistics Department of Texas Tech University.