Southwest Local Algebra Meeting

University of Arkansas, 24–25 February 2018


Saturday 24 February

12.30–1.00 pm  Check-in and coffee/snacks
1.00–2.00 pm  Poster session
2.00–2.50 pm  Talk 1
3.00–3.50 pm  Talk 2
4.00–4.50 pm  Poster session
5.00–5.50 pm  Talk 3
6.30 pm  Social gathering

Sunday 25 February

8.30–9.00 am  Continental breakfast
9.00–9.50 am  Talk 4
10.00–10.50 am  Poster session
11.00–11.50 am  Talk 5
12.00–12.50 pm  Talk 6


To ease planning and reporting we request that all participants fill out the registration form before 3 February 2018. Early registrants have priority for support, and you must register by 20 January 2018 to be considered for support.

Travel and Accommodation

From the Bentonville airport (XNA) there is Jim's Express Shuttle Service to Fayetteville and several rental car options. For those who drive, here are the directions from the airport.

The talks will take place in room 408 on the fourth floor of the Science Engineering Hall, the building marked SCEN on the campus map. On Saturdays and Sundays parking is free in most lots, including the following convenient locations: Harmon Ave. Garage, Lot 71, and the metered parking slots on Arkansas Ave. See the parking map.

The conference hotel is the Chancellor Hotel located at 70 N East Ave., Fayetteville, AR 72701. Please register by 20 January 2018 to book a room at the conference rate.

The social gathering on Saturday takes place at Fayetteville Underground located at 101 W Mountain St, Fayetteville, AR 72702.

Confirmed Speakers

Matthew Day  (University of Arkansas)

Jonathan Kujawa  (University of Oklahoma)

Joseph (JM) Landsberg  (Texas A&M University)

Hema Srinivasan  (University of Missouri)

Peder Thompson  (Texas Tech University)

Bernd Ulrich  (Purdue University)


Lars Winther Christensen  (Texas Tech University)

Louiza Fouli  (New Mexico State University)

Mark Johnson  (University of Arkansas)

David Jorgensen  (University of Texas at Arlington)

Paolo Mantero  (University of Arkansas)

Previous SLAMs

2017 at University of New Mexico   2016 at Texas State University   2015 at Oklahoma State University   2014 at Texas A&M University  

2013 at University of Arizona   2012 at Texas Tech University   2011 at New Mexico State University   2010 at University of Texas at Arlington