Seminar in Applied Mathematics

Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Texas Tech University

Fall 2015 - Wednesday, 4-5 pm - Room MATH 112


DateTalk
Sept. 2, Wed. Giorgio Bornia
Numerical solution of stationary incompressible FSI problems with multigrid solvers and domain decomposition smoothers [abstract]
Sept. 9, Wed. Luan Hoang
Global Estimates for Generalized Forchheimer Flows of Slightly Compressible Fluids [abstract]
Sept. 16, Wed. Luan Hoang
Global Estimates for Generalized Forchheimer Flows of Slightly Compressible Fluids [part II] [abstract]
Sept. 17, Thu. Lars Christensen
T&P Colloquium, 3:30 PM, AGR 102
Sept. 22, Tue. Ram Iyer
T&P Colloquium, 3:30 PM, HOLDEN 075
Sept. 23, Wed. Matteo Di Giovanni, University of Rome - La Sapienza
Studying the efficiency of a method for detecting Gravitational Waves using the Hough Transform [abstract]
Sept. 24, Thu. Raegan Higgins
T&P Colloquium, 3:30 PM, AGR 102
Sept. 29, Tue. Eugenio Aulisa
T&P Colloquium, 3:30 PM, HOLDEN 075
Sept. 30, Wed. No talks. Please attend the Colloquia on Tue. and Thu.
Oct. 1, Thu. Alastair Hamilton
T&P Colloquium, 3:30 PM, AGR 102
Oct. 7, Wed. Kevin Long
Energy-structured models for migrating bird populations (Joint Applied Math - Biomath Seminar)
Oct. 14, Wed. Kevin Long
Path integral models for migrating bird populations (Joint Applied Math - Biomath Seminar)
Oct. 21, Wed. Emine Celik
Fluid flows of mixed types in porous media [abstract]
Oct. 28, Wed. Duan Zhong Zhang, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Models and Closures for Multiphase Porous Media Flows [abstract]
Nov. 4, Wed. Suleyman Tek, University of the Incarnate Word, San Antonio
Obtaining New Classes of Surfaces Using Integrable Equations [abstract]
Nov. 5, Thu. Suleyman Tek, University of the Incarnate Word, San Antonio
A Comparison of Solvers and Solution Methods for Reservoir Simulators [abstract]
Nov. 6-7, Fri.-Sat. Red Raider Mini-Symposium
Nov. 11, Wed. Angela Peace
Concurrent nutrient and contaminant stressors in predator-prey systems (Joint Applied Math - Biomath) [abstract]
Nov. 18, Wed. Fangyuan Zhang
Robust Partial Likelihood for Detecting Imprinting and Maternal Effects (Joint Applied Math - Biomath) [abstract]
Nov. 25, Wed. No talks. Thanksgiving Break.
Dec. 2, Wed. No talks. Last day of classes.