Texas Tech University
Site Index
TTU Home Departments Mathematics & Statistics

Department of Mathematics & Statistics

Helen I. Medley Outstanding Teacher Award

Dr. Helen I. Medley (1929 - 2017) was an outstanding mathematics teacher that, among other things, inspired Professor Roger Barnard to become a mathematician. She taught him 7th, 8th, and 10th grade mathematics as well as his first year college math course. She was an inspiring teacher who brought him to love mathematics and made a difference in his life in many ways. After obtaining her Ph.D. in mathematics from Case Western Reserve University, she even participated in Professor Barnard's Masters Committee.

Dr. Medley retired from Case Western after 25 years, but remained active in the field until March of 2017, performing technical review of mathematical textbooks and was a preferred colleague to a number of textbook authors and publishers. She was also active in the Kent Presbyterian Church, singing in the choir a number of years, and a servant to her local community, volunteering to deliver bread to Kent Social Services, provider of hot meals to low income residents. She was a decades-long cancer survivor.

To honor Dr. Medley, Professor Barnard established the Helen I. Medley Award for Outstanding Mathematics Teacher, an annual award rewarding outstanding middle and high school mathematics teachers who have made a difference in the lives of their students. Each year, after an extensive selection process, the award recipient and the school receive a plaque honoring their contributions at the Annual Mathematics Awards Banquet at Texas Tech University.

2015 Award Ceremony

Left: Roger Barnard (TTU), Right: Angie Gunter (Idalou High School)

List of Recent Helen I. Medley Award Winners by Year

Year Name School
2017Kristi WalkerNew Home ISD
2017Patrick WestLubbock High School
2017Sonya LocascioIdalou Middle School
2016Alyson CrawfordTalkington School for Young Women Leaders
2016Judy GholsonSmyer High School
2015Sonya GlassFloydada High School
2015Angie GunterIdalou High School
2014Jennifer BrownAnton ISD
2014Stacey MichieTalkington School for Young Women Leaders
2013Daro HarewoodEstacado High School
2013Britni OaksDawson ISD
2012Dennis MayHutch Middle School
2012Jazmin MedranoRoosevelt High School
2011Marcie FeatherstonPlainview High School
2011Betty HallTalkington School for Young Women Leaders
2010Leah ChennaultRopes
2010C. CortezCoronado High School
2009Kevin ChisumCuthrie
2009James PiggSouthland
2008Bill CloptonO'Donnell
2008Richie CullinsPlains High School
2008Dorthy DavisHutchinson Jr. High
2007Carletta RenfroTahoka
2007Julie WyrickLubbock High School
2006Cindy ChapmanWhiteface

Helen I. Medley Winners Award by Last Name

Name School
Karol AlbusWhitharrell High School
Susie AlexanderPlains Junior High School
Russell ArendellRalls High School
Connie AveryHutchinson Junior High School
Stephanie BarrettMuleshoe High School
Evelyn BowenCoronado High School
Julie BrantleyCoronado Junior High School
Jennifer BrownAnton ISD
Julie BumbaughLubbock High School
Joe CainEvans Junior High School
Cindy ChapmanWhiteface High School
Leah ChennaultRopes
Kevin ChisumCuthrie
Lori ClevelandKress Junior High School
Bill CloptonO'Donnell
C. CortezCoronado High School
Alyson CrawfordTalkington School for Young Women Leaders
Richie CullinsPlains High School
Dorthy DavisHutchinson Jr. High
Dollie DriverCoronado High School
Donnie DuttonAnton Junior & High School
Marcie FeatherstonPlainview High School
Orville FoxMonterey High School
Judy GholsonSmyer High School
Sonya GlassFloydada High School
Angie GunterIdalou High School
Betty HallTalkington School for Young Women Leaders
Carrie Lee FranklinLevelland High School
Kim GilesLevelland High School
Daro HarewoodEstacado High School
Deral HeadRankin High School
Cathy HodgesFrenship High School
Sonya LocascioIdalou Middle School
Nancy LewisPlainview High School
Lucy LozanoEstacado Junior High School
Paulette ManningPlainview High School
Dennis MayHutch Middle School
Jazmin MedranoRoosevelt High School
Patsy McCainLittlefield High School
Kristi McCrummenRopes Junior High School
Danny McNabbRopes High School
Stacey MichieTalkington School for Young Women Leaders
Britni OaksDawson ISD
Neoka PerezLubbock High School
James PiggSouthland
Joe PorrasCavazos Junior High School
Carletta RenfroTahoka High School
Randy StutesPetersburg Junior High School
Ann ThompsonLubbock High School
Coie TragerMorton High School
Kristi WalkerNew Home ISD
Becky WeatherlyMonterey High School
Patrick WestLubbock High School
Robin WhiteheadWhiteface ISD
Kent WinterMathews Junior High School
Doyce WrightNew Deal High School
Julie WyrickLubbock High School
Contact Information

For more information regarding the Helen I. Medley Outstanding Teacher Award, please e-mail math.dept@ttu.edu or call the TTU Department of Mathematics & Statistics at (806) 742-2566.

Selection Committee
Dr. Roger Barnard

Dr. Roger Barnard
Award Founder, Committee Chair

Dr. Brock Williams

Dr. Brock Williams
Committee Member

Levi Johnson

Levi Johnson
Committee Member